DIY Ombre Hair

So about a month ago, I posted here about ombre hair and how much I liked it. That photo of Drew Barrymore was just too tempting, so I did it. Not so sure if it suits me, but I love it for now. This is what it looks like from the back, not the best photo but anyways. The ends are a tiny bit lighter now after swimming and being in the sun in Thailand for the last two weeks. Its a lot easier to do than it seems. At first it just seemed like such a mission, and I didnt feel like paying hundreds of rands for a hairdresser to do it. I showed Rowan the picture of Drew Barrymore’s ombre hair, and he said he’d do it for me! I have to admit though, trusting your boyfriend to dye your hair is pretty scary. I was so nervous, but it turned out great. Thanks Row 🙂

So, here’s how to do it:

Step 1: Buy the hair lightening product. I used this Kair Blonde High-light kit thing, it was only like R60 and it worked perfectly so I highly recommend it. You mix the decolouring powder with the activator stuff and you’re ready to go. (There are instructions inside the box, and it’s available from Pick n Pay and Clicks and all those kinda shops)
Step 2: Start with the tips of your hair, divide it into sections, and apply the mixture. I applied it to the bottom 7cm or so of my hair. Cover it in foil, and leave for 45 mins. Rinse off the product and towel dry your hair so you’re ready for the next step.
After that I rinsed it off, and because I have naturally dark hair it looked rather ginger! Scary! If this happens to you, do not fear, you will still be applying more product to the tips, so it will go blonder.

Step 3: Repeat step 2, but this time apply to double the amount of hair. This time I applied the product to about 15cm of hair. It’s scary, but just do it. Cover with foil again. And leave it for another 45 mins.  You can repeat step 3 as many times as you like until you get the effect that you want. I did it about 3 times, and focused just on my tips the last time because they weren’t as light as I wanted them to be.

Here’s a photo of what my hair looks like now. The sun is shining on the tips so it looks extra blonde. It was so much easier to do than I thought it would be. Preferably get someone to help you though, I couldn’t have done it without Rowan. Hope the steps help. Just comment if you have any questions.

Happy Wednesday. X

 

2 thoughts on “DIY Ombre Hair

Leave a Reply

