DIY Denim Shorts

I’ve been searching for the perfect pair of high-waisted denim shorts for as long as I can remember. Every pair I find are either too small, too short, too long, just not what I want. I keep on seeing demin shorts DIY’s on Pinterest and other sites, so I thought it couldn’t be too hard. I headed down to a second hand shop, bought someone’s old jeans and got started.  1 big warning: don’t cut the shorts too short right at the beginning – better to be safe, than sorry. I cut them first above the knee, then cut bit by bit off and tried them on inbetween to make sure. When cutting the shorts, it’s best to make a V shape so that the sides are shorter than the middle – you’ll thank me later.

You will need:

  • old pair of jeans
  • scissors
  • sandpaper
  • knife

This is a photo of the jeans once I had cut them off above the knee. I kept cutting them and trying them on until I had the length I wanted.

Then I wanted to make them look a little more worn in. I used sandpaper to wear away some of the denim to create a few holes. Remember to follow the grain of the material – the holes will appear a lot faster.

Next I wanted to put the ends of the shorts a bit rougher and make them look a bit less like they’d just been cut. I used a normal knife and ran the blade along the edges for quite a while until I liked the way it looked. Then I out the jeans in the washing machine – this encourages the fraying.

As easy as that. Done! These are what they look like now.

Very happy with the way they turned out – and now I finally have a pair of denim shorts that fit perfectly and are exactly what I wanted. You can make them look a bit more worn-in by using some bleach or by sanding them a bit more. X

4 thoughts on “DIY Denim Shorts

Leave a Reply

