What I’ve learnt

learning

{image source}

What I’ve learnt this year so far:

I’ve learnt a lot about my friendships this year, and who is really important to me. I feel so spoilt to have such amazing people in my life. I’ve realised that having people look out for you and care about you this much is not the default, but something extremely special.

Moving out has taught me the importance of budgeting. Earning a salary and still almost running out of money every month has taught me the importance of budgeting.

Dancing on my own, by Robyn, is one of the best songs to drink with your girls and dance to. Try it.

People who say that you’ll miss your mother’s cooking when you move out – not entirely true. Been out of home for four months, have not missed the cooking once. Have missed the dinner-time banter though.

Confrontation is not always pretty, but sometimes it is very necessary. The longer you avoid it, the bigger the problem becomes and the more time you have to over-think everything.

I will never, ever grow out of listening to Blink 182. I spent the whole day at the office listening to them and went home to listen to more! Cannot ever get enough of this band.

Work can be a bit overwhelming sometimes, write everything down. I mean everything. This way, you’ll have a record of what you’ve been asked to do and what you need to complete by when. I’ve also learnt that deleting emails is less than ideal – you need a record of what was said, especially when something goes wrong.

I’ve learnt I could never ever be a receptionist; I can just about answer my own phone. Transferring calls, putting people on hold… It’s all a bit too much for me. I had to stick the user guidelines to my desk so I know what to do.

I know I’ve said it before, but do your research. Nothing else can back up your argument like research can. Ask around, and make sure you know what you’re talking about.

Lastly, I’ve learnt that everyday I’m still learning. It’s exciting to be in a job where I’m learning new things every day and I’m happy about this.

Leave a Reply

