Zanzibar Part 1

 

z2 z1 z4 z5 z6 z7 z12 z11 z13 z14 z15 z21 z19 IMG_0846IMG_0675 IMG_0892My week is Zanzibar feels like forever ago. Ok, it was like three months ago, but I just haven’t had time to write about all of the amazing-ness that was my week in paradise. I was in Zanzibar from the 3rd to the 10th of December. It was the perfect break after all of my events for the year were done. We flew straight to Zanzibar from Joburg with Mango. We had delays on the way there, and on the way back, the flight time changed and eventually we had to stay an extra night in Joburg on the way home because we missed our flight home. Mango were not ideal with the whole issue, but flying with them is a better option than flying to Tanzania and catching the ferry (well I think so anyway).

When we arrived in Zanzibar, (after a night in Joburg and sitting next to a crying baby on the flight) I was so ready to relax next to the pool with a G&T. I needed to get to our hotel like hours ago. Our driver picked us up at the airport and it was just over an hour’s drive to our hotel, Uroa Bay. (Turned out that my cousin and his wife also went to Uroa Bay for their honeymoon a year ago and we had no idea!)

The hotel was beautiful, right on the beach, and hardly full which was perfect. We sat by the pool, drank cocktails and walked around the resort hardly seeing anyone. It kinda felt like we were the only people there, IDEAL.

We did a day trip to Stone Town, and did the Spice Route tour (there will be posts coming on both of these outings soon). We also spent the day on an old dar (a wooden boat) sailing around and stopping to snorkel with colourful fish, we then had lunch on a deserted island, PERFECTION. That was probably my favourite day.

At our resort the cocktails were about $4 and the G&Ts were $7 (for a single). So it is safe for you to assume that I enjoyed many cocktails, and tried some of the local Tanzanian beer. They had three different brands of beer, but my favourite was the one with the elephant on the bottle,but I really can’t remember what it was called.

The food at the hotel was delicious. Every night the buffet was themed around a different country or culture. We had dinners from Italy, South Africa, USA and more, and we also had a local Swahili night, which was really interesting.

Uroa Bay is on the east side of the island, and it really was beautiful. We heard once we were there that the beaches on the other side of the island were better, but I had no complaints about our resort.

I absolutely LOVED Zanzibar – and I already want to go back.

One thought on “Zanzibar Part 1

Leave a Reply

