The Cool Girl

gone girl

I am super excited that Gone Girl is now showing, and I cannot wait to go and see it. I read the book earlier this year and I was totally obsessed with it, I couldn’t put it down. I was incredibly interested by Gillian Flynn’s description of this “Cool Girl” and even as I was reading it, I sensed myself getting sucked in thinking ‘yes… that’s who I want to be’.

“Being the Cool Girl means I am a hot, brilliant, funny woman who adores football, poker, dirty jokes, and burping, who plays video games . . . Cool Girls never get angry; they only smile in a chagrined, loving manner and let their men do whatever they want . . . Men actually think this girl exists. Maybe they’re fooled because so many women are willing to pretend to be this girl.”

NO. This cool girl does not exist.

A few months ago I read an article on Buzzfeed, called Jennifer Lawrence and the history of Cool Girls, which was very interesting. This Cool Girl idea is not new, it’s been around for years and years and we’re all still falling into the trap of believing that this kind of girl is real.

But, don’t get me wrong, I love J-Law, I think she’s super awesome, and funny, and all of that, but it does seem a little too good to be true.

Men always say that as the defining compliment, don’t they? She’s a cool girl. Being the Cool Girl means I am a hot, brilliant, funny woman who adores football, poker, dirty jokes, and burping, who plays video games, drinks cheap beer, loves threesomes and anal sex, and jams hot dogs and hamburgers into her mouth like she’s hosting the world’s biggest culinary gang bang while somehow maintaining a size 2, because Cool Girls are above all hot. Hot and understanding. Cool Girls never get angry; they only smile in a chagrined, loving manner and let their men do whatever they want. Go ahead, shit on me, I don’t mind, I’m the Cool Girl.”

The quote above is rather breathtaking. And just further proves that this kind of girl cannot exist, not in reality. It’s an impossible standard that so many women are trying to live up to.

Anyway, I really can’t wait to see the movie. If you’ve seen it – let me know what you think! I’ve heard that they changed the ending for the movie so that people who’ve read the book are still surprised! SO EXCITED!

Leave a Reply

